Hartest Pre-school
The Row, Hartest
Bury St Edmunds,
Suffolk IP29 4DL
Tel: 01284 830 860 / 07582 266373
Email: hartest.preschool@btconnect.com
© Hartest Pre-School 2014

Web Design Suffolk Indigo Ross

Education & care

Our provision for the children’s development and learning is guided by the Governments revised Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) initiative which came into force autumn 2012.  These guidelines apply to children from birth to the end of their reception year at school when they reach the age of 5. The following information is taken from the government pack “EYFS and revised EYFS” issued to all childcare settings.  If you would like to see a copy please ask any member of staff who will get you a copy to view.

There are four themes in The Early Years Foundation stage and guiding principles in each theme.

Theme Principle
A Unique Child

Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent from the starting point of a loving secure relationship with parents and/or key person.

Enabling Environments

The environment of the setting plays a key role in supporting children’s development and learning.

Learning & Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.



Our setting has a key person system. This means that each member of staff has a group of children for whom she/he is particularly responsible. Your child’s key person will be the person who works with you to make sure that what we provide is right for your child’s particular needs and interests. When your child first starts at the setting, she/he will help your child to settle and throughout your child’s time at the setting, she/he will help your child to benefit from the settings activities.

The EYFS is made up of seven areas of Learning and Development, all connected and equally important and underpinned by the principles outlined above. For each area the guidance sets out early learning goals which state what is expected that each child will know and be able to do by the end of their reception year. For each goal the guidance describes the stages through which children are likely to pass as they move to the achievement of the goal. Our setting uses this information to help trace each child’s progress and enable us to provide the right activities to help them progress further and achieve

The seven areas of learning are:- 

Further information can be found on the Government standards site www.education.gov.uk

We are registered with Ofsted and our current Ofsted report is available to read on www.ofsted.gov.uk